DBE in Kansas has six chapters, five range across the Kansas City, Kansas and Missouri metropolitan area and one serves Lawrence/Topeka.  Chapters hold monthly business meetings, always with time for tea and socializing before or after.


Bard of Avon meets 3rd Wednesday morning

Bess of Hardwicke meets 3rd Sunday afternoon (Topeka/Lawrence)

Lady Nancy Astor meets 3rd Sunday afternoon

Magna Carta meets 2nd Saturday morning

Royal Arms meets 1st Tuesday evening

Somerset House meets 3rd Friday evening (Northland)

We're always looking for new members, and hope to form new chapters.  Women who can claim British or British Commonwealth heritage, by birth, naturalization or proven ancestry are eligible to apply.  Women may also claim eligibility through marriage (if the husband or his parent or grandparent was British- or Commonwealth-born).  We also welcome junior members (15-18).

DBE is a 501C philanthropic society.  Our main focus is support of the British Home established in one of four districts of the US for retired men and women.  DBE in Kansas chapters raise funds for The British Home Community in Brookfield, IL, est. 1924.  Chapters also support their local community with many other fundraising activities such as the Alzheimer's Walk and PBS phone-in Britcom nights.

In Kansas, we raise funds through The British Faire held each November in Lenexa and via Spring Teas and other activities held by individual chapters.  Our members hail from England, Scotland, Wales, New Zealand, Canada and several other Commonwealth countries, by birth or generational heritage.  We love a cup of tea and a challenge!

Join us at one of our events or arrange to visit a chapter.  You can contact us here.

New State Board Members

President                                      Rusty Watson

1st Vice President                      Sherry Thompson

2nd Vice President                             Betty Carroll

3rd Vice President                                Ann Smith

Recording Secretary                       Carolyn Payne

Corresponding Secretary                      Sally Helm

Treasurer                                        Brenda Marks

Organizers                        Linda Ann & Pam Atwell

Standard Bearer                           Myrna Vardeman

Historian                                      Elizabeth Stewart

2011 State Board

Front Row, L-R: Beth Brown, Jerri Carmack, Pam Atwell, Betty Carroll, Brenda Marks, Sally Helm  //  Back Row, L-R: Jane Bartholomew, Debbie Holladay, Sherry Thompson, Rusty Watson, Irene Mallory, Christine Tipping